Home > Uncategorized > Oil & Gas Public Lecture Series “Abuja 2019”


The Institute of Oil & Gas Research & Hydrocarbon Studies (IOGRHS) will hold the “Oil & Gas  Public Lecture Series “Abuja 2019” with the theme “PROCESSING VEGETABLE OIL INTO AVIATION FUEL: TECHNOLOGY, CHALLENGES & MARKET ECONOMICS” on Friday May 31, 2019 at the Conference Hall, Nicon Luxury Abuja, Nigeria by 4pm prompt.

This year’s lecture is organized to discuss the possibilities and technology of processing vegetable oil into aviation fuel.

The Institute thought that the production of aviation fuel around the African continent and expansion of the sources of production of aviation fuel from a single source – crude oil offers enormous economic benefits and a large catalyst for economic diversification. The faculty is drawn from the academic, investors in the oil palm plantation and development, and vegetable oil processing businesses.

The lecture plans to discuss land acquisition, low cost project finance, equipment design, fabrication, construction and installation. The gathering will attempt to offer solutions on power supply and other infrastructure matters. They will also discuss cost benefit analysis of the derivation of aviation fuel from petroleum crude oil and vegetable oil. The Institute believes that when this breakthrough is fully implemented, the humongous amount of foreign exchange spent on the importation of jet fuel shall be drastically reduced.

Some of the persons selected to speak at the epoch making event are: Prof. Adejuwonlo Ekundayo, the Head of Station (Africa & Middle East) of the INAC International Finance Group LLC (international long term funders) , USA; Mr. Santosh Pillai, the Managing Director for West Africa of PZ Wilmar Ltd (operates upstream, midstream and downstream oil palm business) ; Dr. Hefer Graham, the Managing Director of The Okomu Oil Palm Company Plc (operates upstream and downstream oil palm business with huge control of crude palm oil) ; Alhaji Mukhtar Yakasi, the Deputy Managing Director of the Grand Cereals Ltd (renowned vegetable oil processing company); Dr. Ahmad Galadima, Hydrocarbon Enterprise Research Fellow and Vice Chairman of the Institute of Oil & Gas Research & Hydrocarbon Studies (IOGRHS), etc.

Some of the Distinguished Special Guests expected to grace the lecture include but not limited to: Professor Yemi Osinbajo SAN, Federal Republic of Nigeria’s Vice President; Dr. Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu, Federal Republic of Nigeria’s hard working Honourable Minister of State Petroleum Resources; Senator Hadi Sirika, Federal Republic of Nigeria’s Honourable Minister for Aviation; Honourable John Peter Amewu, the Republic of Ghana’s Honourable Minister for Energy: Engineer Tarek El Molla, the Arab Republic of Egypt’s Honourable Minister for Petroleum and Mineral Resources; His Excellency, Dr. Christopher Ogbonnaya Onu, Federal Republic of Nigeria’s Minister for Science & Technology; His Excellency, Engineer Suhail Mohamed Faraj Al Mazrouei, United Arab Emirates’ Cabinet Minister for Energy & Industry; His Excellency, Dr. Diamantino Pedro Azevedo, the Republic of Algeria’s Minister for Mineral Resources & Petroleum; His Excellency, Mr. Pascal Houangni Ambourone, the Republic of Gabon’s Minister for Petroleum & Hydrocarbons; Chief Audu Ogbeh, Federal Republic of Nigeria’s Honourable Minister for Agriculture & Rural Development; His Excellency, Engineer Jean-Marc Thystere Tchicaya the Democratic Republic of Congo’s Honourable Minister for Hydrocarbons; Honourable Charles Keter, EGH, the Republic of Kenya’s Minister for Energy & Petroleum; His Excellency, Professor Foumakoye Gabo, Niger Republic’s Honourable Minister for Energy & Petroleum; His Excellency, Minister Gabriel Mbaga Obiang Lima, the Republic of Equatorial Guinea’s Titular Minister for Mines & Hydrocarbons; His Excellency, Dr. Ernest Max Tonela, the Republic of Mozambique’s Honurable Minister for Mineral Resources & Energy; Senator Kabir Garba Marafa, CON, Federal Republic of Nigeria’s Chairman of the Senate Committee on Petroleum Resources (Downstream); His Excellency, Minister Emmanuel Bonde, the Republic of Cameroon’s Honourable Minister for Mines, Industry & Technological Development; Her Excellency, Honourable Soraya Hakuziyaremye, the Republic of Rwanda’s Minister for Trade & Industry (Petroleum Downstream Services); Honourable Comrade Joseph Iranola Akinlaja, Federal Republic of Nigeria’s Chairman, House of Representatives’ Committee on Petroleum Resources (Downstream); His Excellency, Engineer Mustapha Guitouni, the Republic of Algeria’s Minister for Energy & Mines; Senator Engineer Ephraim Kirinyaga Nwangi, the Republic of Kenya’s Chairman, Senate Committee on Energy; His Excellency, Ambassador Claver Gatete, the Republic of Rwanda’s Honourable Minister for Infrastructure (petroleum Midstream services); Honourable Francisco Mucanheia, the Republic of Mozambique’s Chairman, Assembly of the Republic’s (Parliament) Committee on Agriculture, Economy & Environment; His Excellency, Honourable Fata Sanyang, the Republic of the Gambia’s Ministry of Petroleum & Energy; Respected Engineer Talaat El Sewedy, the President of the Arab Republic of Egypt House of Representatives’ Committee on Energy & Environment; His Excellency, Geologist Gesler Murray, the Republic of Liberia’s Ministry of Mines & Energy; Honourable Barrister Victor Onyemachi Nwokolo, the Federal Republic of Nigeria’s Chairman, House of Representatives’ Committee on Petroleum Resources (Upstream); Honourable David Gikaria Wanjiku, MP, the Republic of Kenya’s Chairman, Parliamentary Committee on Energy; Senator Chief Donald Omotayo Alasoadura, the Federal Republic of Nigeria’s Chairman, Senate Committee on Petroleum Resources (Upstream); His Excellency, Minister Dona Jean-Claude Houssou, the Honourable Minister for Energy; Dr. Charles Aisagbonhi, the Executive Director, the Nigerian Institute for Oil Palm Research (NIFOR); Senator George Tamba Tengbeh, the Republic of Liberia’s Chairman, Senate Committee on Lands, Mines, Energy & Mineral Resources, etc.

The Institute shall also carry out the implementation of the African Oil & Gas Globe Awards 2019 and awardees are please expected to be seated by 4pm prompt. Organisations planning to display their products at the apron of the Nicon Luxury Hotel should please be kind to inform the Institute in writing so that the Organising Committee can make adequate provision for same.

The Institute wishes participants journey mercies to and from Abuja, Nigeria’s Federal Capital Territory.

Participants and Speakers in Pictures:

Event in Pictures:

« 1 of 6 »

Vincent Tamunoibim
Member, Planning & Organizing Committee


Skip to toolbar